Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Today is...the Anniversary of the first NFL-AFL Championship Game

January 15 is the Anniversary of the first NFL-AFL championship game in 1967 between the Green Bay Packers and Kansas City Chiefs. Victorious Packers Quarterback Bart Starr was the game’s MVP. This game wasn’t known as the Super Bowl until later years.

The Super Bowl was created as part of the merger between the NFL and the AFL, which officially began in 1970.

The National Football Conference leads the American Football Conference in 25 wins to 21.

The Pittsburgh Steelers have won 6 Super Bowls, the most of any team. The Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, Jacksonville Jaguars, and Houston Texans have never made it to the Super Bowl.

No team has played the Super Bowl in its home stadium.

The Louisiana Superdome has hosted the greatest number of Super Bowls at 7.

Tom Brady and John Elway have the most starts in the Super Bowl for all Quarterbacks, with 5 each. Brady has a records of 3-2 and Elway had 2-3.

Super Bowl XLVII is the first that will pit two head coaching brothers against one another.

Each 30-second advertisement this year will cost $4,000,000.

No comments:

Post a Comment