Monday, December 1, 2014

This Month at ONU
December 1, 1979 – Dr. Debow Freed became 9th president of ONU
December 11, 1861 – Simeon D. Fess, ONU faculty member, Pres. of Antioch College and U.S. 
                                        Senator born

December 12, 1851 – Frederick Maglott, trustee and early faculty member born

Dec. 18, 1931-  Issue of Ada Herald announces that Smith-era ban on dances has been lifted –    
                            at least for informal affairs at fraternities and sororities
December 23, 1889 – first fire in Hill Bldg. – then called “The Administration Bldg.”
Dec. 27, 1929 – Dr. Robert Williams of Albion College elected president of ONU


Monday, November 3, 2014

This Month at ONU
Nov. 1, 2008 – Launch of $100 million “ONU Tomorrow” campaign
Nov. 2, 1854 – First train arrives in Ada initiating a century of passenger service to ONU’s
                           students and faculty

Nov. 4, 1913 – Hill Building Fire
Nov. 9, 1989 – Ground breaking for Freed Center, “topping off” ceremony on Sept. 11, 1990
Nov. 17, 1928 – Hatchet ceremony
Nov. 22, 1968 – Ground breaking for of Meyer Hall of Science
Nov. 30, 1945 – 22 trailers were made available to married veterans in “Vetsburg” on south 
                             lawn of Presser Hall


Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Dr. Frederick Martin Ernsberger Display
A display on Dr. Fred. M. Ernsberger, an Ada native and ONU alumnus,  is in the main display case on the library's first floor. During his student days at Northern (1938 – 1941), Fred majored in chemistry and participated in a variety of clubs. 

After graduation, he enrolled at Ohio State University and was pursuing a PhD. Degree in Physical Chemistry at the outbreak of WWII. He joined the Manhattan Project’s work at Oak Ridge, Tennessee.
For more information on his long and eventful career, please view the cases outside the Music Media Lab.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Open Access Week: October 20-26

"Open Access Week, a global event now entering its eighth year, is an opportunity for the academic and research community to continue to learn about the potential benefits of Open Access, to share what they’ve learned with colleagues, and to help inspire wider participation in helping to make Open Access a new norm in scholarship and research."

To find out more, visit the Open Access Week website:

The librarians at Heterick Memorial Library have put together a guide with links to a variety of Open Access sites:

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Fall Break Hours

Fall Break Hours

Friday, October 10  7:30AM - 4:30PM
Saturday, October 11  and Sunday October 12  Closed
Monday, October 13 8AM - 4:30PM
Tuesday, October 14 8AM - Midnight

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

This Month at ONU

October 3, 1997 – Meyer-Biggs Annex dedicated

                                                                        Pres. Freed

October 3, 1970 - Basic Sciences Building dedicated (later Meyer Hall of Science)

October 4, 1970 – 50-bell Walter and Marian English Carillon dedicated
October 5, 1958 – Heterick Memorial Library dedicated (in Presser Hall at the time)
October 6, 1973 – Tilton Hall of Law dedicated

                                           Pres. Meyer at Podium - Looking W. to Taft Gym

October 6, 2006 – Dedication of Hakes – Pierstorf Family Pharmacy Education Center
October 6, 2000 – Dedication of Heterick Memorial Library expansion/ renovation
October 6, 2007 – Henry S. Lehr statue dedicated
October 7, 1967 – Law College retroactively granted the Juris Doctor degree to 454 alumni
October 8, 1891 – Campbell – McKinley debate


        Debate between Ohio Gov. Joseph Campbell and U.S. Rep. (Later President) Wm.  

                                                      McKinley Draws National Attention

October 9, 1949 – Pres. McIntosh inaugurated
October 11, 1964 – Founders Hall and Maglott Hall dedicated

                                                  Founder's Hall (C) Maglott Hall (R)

October 11, 1964 – Clark Hall Addition dedicated
October 11, 1996 – Groundbreaking for the Meyer-Biggs Annex
 October 13, 2003 – demolition starts on Huber Building

                                                           Note Dicke Hall to Left

October 13, 1995 – Pierstorff Annex (pharmacy) dedicated
October 14, 1949 – Dr. Frank Bringle McIntosh inaugurated as ONU’s sixth president
October 15, 1965 – Pres. Samuel Lewis Meyer inaugurated – first layman to hold that position
                                   since Dr. Lehr
                              - Wintzer Music Media Lab opened in Heterick Memorial Library    
October 16, 1959 - The first group of pledges was initiated into the local Zeta Kappa chapter of
                                   Delta Zeta

October 16, 1941 – Male students begin  registering under the Selective Service Act

October 13, 1995 – Dr. and Mrs. Ervin W. Pierstorf Addition to Pharmacy Building dedicated;
                                   construction began in Oct. 1994
October 14, 1995 – Annex to Wilson Art Building dedicated; construction begun May 22, 1995
October 18, 2008 – Dedication of Eugene Hanson Reading Room in Tilton Hall of Law
October 18, 1997 – Groundbreaking for expansion of Presser Hall

                          Prof. Charles Bates (L) Music Dept. Chair, Prof. Ed. Williams (R)

October 18, 1991 – WONB begins broadcasting from Freed Center
October 19, 2002 – Dedication of Burgett Pavilion, enlargement of chapel, removal of Young
October 19, 1958 – First units of Lima and Stambaugh Halls dedicated

                                                                  Stambaugh Hall

October 22, 1966 – Dedication of Robertson-Evans Pharmacy Building
 October 29, 1955 – ground broken for Lima Hall
October 31, 1970 – Flame of Unity dedicated


Monday, September 8, 2014

Newly Tenured Faculty Display

Heterick Library has proudly created a display in honor of the newly tenured faculty here at Ohio Northern. Located just to the left of the circulation desk the display features a photo of the newly tenured faculty, a short write up, and a book in their discipline that was purchased in honor of their achievement.