Friday, August 22, 2014

1-2-1 Research Consultations

A librarian is still always on call or at the reference desk Monday - Thursday: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM ; 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM, and Friday: 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM. However, that may not meet all of your research needs. That is why the librarians of Heterick Memorial Library will continue to offer 121 Research Consultations.

121 Research Consultations provide an individual or group an opportunity to schedule a 30-60 minute appointment with a librarian for an in-depth research consultation, which can cover anything from capstone consultations to database instruction to resource management to tracking an elusive citation or paper. Student, faculty, and staff are all invited to schedule a consultation.

To schedule, you can email or you can email the librarian of your choice (for information on each librarian, visit Meet the Librarians). Include days and times you are available and your topic.

We look forward to meeting with you!

Tuesday, August 12, 2014



Aug. 2, 1899 – Ownership of ONU transferred to M.E. Church


August 14, 1871 – classes begin at Northwestern Ohio Normal School, predecessor to ONU

                                                       On site of Present Lehr Memorial

Aug. 15, 1871 – First two literary societies, Franklins and Philomatheans, organized (Adelphians   
                             organized 1880)

                          Window commemorating Societies - In Practice Room - Presser Hall

Aug. 17, 1953 – Library collection moved from Brown Hall to Presser

                                                   Reading Room in Brown Hall Library

Aug. 22, 2011 – Classes under the new semester calendar begin

Aug. 25, 1925 – Pres. DeBow Freed born  in Hendersonville, TN

Aug. 26, 1941 – Former Pres. A.E. Smith died at his home in Findlay at age 80; buried in
                             Delaware, Ohio

Aug. 30, 2006 – Dedication of Affinity Housing

Aug. 31, 1977 - Pres. Samuel L. Meyer retires and became president emeritus

                      May 1989 - Three Presidents - Dr. Freed (L) Dr. McIntosh (C) Dr. Meyer (R)